People engaged in injury accidents in Indiana frequently wonder, “Who determines who was at fault for the crash?”
An answer to this question is even more critical when serious injuries, substantial financial losses, and pain and suffering are involved.
So, does a police report identify the responsible party in an accident in Indiana? In Indiana, who decides who is responsible for car accidents? When the police arrive on the scene, they document the accident and file a report. Police reports, however, do not always determine who is to blame for an automobile accident.
Are the police able to determine fault in a crash?
In Indiana, police must report an auto accident if there are injuries or deaths. In this report, the officer typically discusses the basic facts of the accident as they were known to him. One or more drivers responsible for the collision may receive a ticket from the police.
Although it might appear that the problem has been resolved, this is not always the case. Police consider whether a driver committed a criminal traffic crime when they issue a citation following an accident. However, criminal accountability differs from civil liability. A police report is not the last word when obtaining compensation for your injuries.
A police report can provide evidence supporting your claim, but you can also present evidence that another driver was responsible. Depending on the details of the collision, the other driver may be entirely or partially responsible for your injuries, regardless of the citation you received for your actions. To learn more, speak with a car accident attorney.
What’s the deadline for filing an Indiana accident report?
According to Indiana law, drivers must call the police following any collision resulting in injuries or fatalities. If there is more than $1,000 in property damage, you must also report the accident. Lastly, if you collide with an unattended car and cannot contact the owner, you must inform the collision to the authorities.
Police failure to receive a report of an accident may result in severe legal repercussions. Your driver’s license may be suspended, and your car’s registration may be revoked if you fail to report an accident to the state Bureau of Motor Vehicles within ten days.
If convicted of a misdemeanor violation, you may face a fine of up to $500 and jail time of up to 60 days.